Tuesday 15 June 2021 at 7:30 pm
at St Mary's Church


Beethoven    String Quartet in E flat, Op.74 ('Harp')

Haydn    String Quartet in B flat, Op.33 No.4

Schubert    String Quartet in D minor, D.810 ('Death and the Maiden')


Members online booking opens Tuesday 18 May

Any remaining tickets will be released on general sale on Tuesday 1 June

Winners of the Beethoven Prize at the 2nd International Beethoven Chamber Music Competition, the Fitzroy Quartet formed at the Royal Academy of Music in 2014. In 2018 the quartet were selected as artists for Le Dimore del Quartetto and were winners of the Tunnel Trust award for 2019/20 season during which they toured Scotland and as of 2018 they were proud participants in the Pro Quartet European Chamber Music Academy.

In 2019 the quartet performed in festivals in Italy, Germany and France and appeared in various concerts across the UK. They have performed at the Wigmore Hall and St Martin-in-the-Fields and have taken part in festivals including Lake District, Musicale and Petworth. They have had the pleasure over the past few seasons to travel across the world performing in many wonderful festivals and counties including Poland, Switzerland, Italy, Germany, Spain and most notably South Africa where they were invited to be the visiting international string quartet. They gave concerts, ensemble coaching and individual masterclasses at the University if the Free State. The quartet are supported by Help Musicians UK and the de Lancey Foundation and have received many awards and prizes including the St Peters Eaton Square Prize, the Wolfe Wolfinssohn Prize and the Sir John Barbirolli Memorial Prize.


Since September 2017 they have been 'Associate Ensemble' at the Royal Birmingham Conservatoire where they are studying with Oliver Wille and were also selected as artists for the Belcea Quartet Charitable Trust. They have received masterclasses from many of the worlds leading chamber musicians including Garfield Jackson and David Waterman of the Endellion String Quartet, Levon Chillingirian, Martin Outram and Christoph Richter, Miguel da Silva and Gunter Pichler.